The EYFS comprises Nursery (3yrs – 4yrs 11months) and Reception (4yrs - 5yrs 11months). We follow the EYFS curriculum for England and Wales (for more information go to

There are 4 Guiding Principles:

  • - The Unique Child
  • - Positive Relationships
  • - Enabling Environments
  • - Learning and Development

Within the theme of Learning and Development there are 7 areas:

3 Prime Areas:

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

4 Specific Areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

These are not taught in isolation but each area is interdependent on the other.

It is a play-based curriculum, to teach skills, with a wide variety of activities taking place each day, providing a firm foundation for future learning. The children make independent choices and individual talents are developed. We prepare them educationally and socially for the challenges they will face in life.

We have conscientious, caring and dedicated Early Years teachers and practitioners who have an excellent relationship with parents; as their children’s first educators it is important we all work together to enable them to reach their goals. All the children have Learning Journey books with evidence of their work, showing progression from the beginning of the Nursery to the end of Reception.

The environment is bright and creative with wonderful displays of the children’s work, great evidence of their creativity and individuality.

Reception Information

Nursery Information